I Blame Megan   3 comments

Megs pointed me at Caffeinated Joe, who was running a month-long short-answer meme.  (It’s basically twittering on your blog.)

Megan decided to do the same idea, in June instead of April.  In the interest of stimulating the writer’s part of the brain, I’m in.  I will of course blather on…

Day One: Favourite Actor

Archibald Alexander Leach, who you probably know better under is nom de guerre of

First actor to go independent of the major studios, when he formed his own production company (a decision that may have been one of the root causes of him never winning an Oscar for Best Actor).  Favorite actor of Howard Hawks, who said “so far the best that there isn’t anybody to be compared to him”.

Take that, Megan, the director of two of Bogey’s greatest films likes my pick better… even if the AFI gives Bogart #1 and Grant #2.  Interestingly, I didn’t know who the AFI top ten were until I was writing this post… Astaire?  Really?

Favorite actor of Alfred Hitchcock, who said, “the only actor I ever loved in my whole life”.  There are several tributes to Cary on YouTube, here’s one narrated by Michael Caine:

Ian Fleming partially modeled James Bond after Cary Grant.  Cary was considered for Dr. No, but passed over because he would only sign a deal for one picture.

Married five times, rumored to be either gay or bisexual, a Republican who condemned McCarthyism and advocated gun control, guaranteeing lurid tabloid coverage… which is a secondary responsibility of your cultural icons, right?  Was awarded the King’s Medal in 1947 for “outstanding service to the British War Relief Society.”, but it’s been claimed that the award was instead for spying on Nazi sympathizers in Hollywood.  True or not?

Who cares?  He was Cary Grant!

Posted June 2, 2010 by padraic2112 in memes, movies

3 responses to “I Blame Megan

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t check any lists before I chose mine. Now I feel smirched for picking AFI’s #1. Smirched I tell you!

    Cary Grant was my second pick. Good bio info.

    (FYI re your comparison to Twitter – I believe this originally began as a tumblr meme. Same sorta thing, anyway.)

  2. Bogey was my third pick. #2 is Gregory Peck.

  3. …..I actually have that first picture hanging on my bulletin board here in my office – kinda freaky!

Leave a Reply

