Theme Thursday: Bell   3 comments

I’m a Bell.

That’s not a joke. I actually am a Bell. Also a Lion and a (no, really) Pedant. Not exactly a Beaver or a Cub, although I’ve spent more time at Caltech than most students and I was at Loyola High as a staff member long enough to qualify as a member of both communities.

I’m talking about mascots. CGU’s mascot is the Pedant (an ant wearing a mortarboard, although the choice of words was tongue in cheek and intentional), LMU’s mascot is the Lion, and Bellarmine College Preparatory‘s mascot is the Bell.  Archibishop Mitty students were Monarchs.  St. Francis students were Lancers.  We were the Bells.

I hated that mascot.  Apparently every so many years someone would suggest a name change and the alumni would all vote it down.  I always wanted someone to explain to me what sort of collective idiocy that represented.  Not because of the inevitable jokes about “Belles” (after all, thanks to Saturday Night Live I was immune to gender-based “insults” by the time I got to high school), but because it was a lame mascot.  Bells call you to be spiritual, or they call you to dinner, or announce the time.  They don’t call you to a contest, which is what your mascot is actually supposed to be doing, right?

You don’t follow a bell onto a gridiron.  You follow a bell to vespers.

Now, I’m a little older.  What’s interesting to me, though, is that I still don’t like the Bell mascot.  I don’t dislike the Pedant; really when you’re in grad school a funny mascot (particularly a self-deprecating one) ought to appeal to you.  High school is different, though, just like teenagers are different from adults.  Sports are important when you’re in high school, even if you’re like I was and aggressively ignore them while you’re there.  They mean something to the community at large.  And you still don’t follow a bell onto a gridiron.

I find it mildly amusing that I still get annoyed about my high school mascot.  What’s yours?  Did you like it?

Posted February 19, 2010 by padraic2112 in noise, Theme Thursday

3 responses to “Theme Thursday: Bell

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude-

    You just need to embrace the Badassness that bells can represent. Here- check out the Wuhan Bells, cast 2500 years ago during the warring states period. The look like something an orc would whack you upside the head with.

    http://www.motionbox.com/videos/7a97d0be1519e5c6f5

    Not badass enough? How about Vajra bells, which symbolize the male and female elements in Tantra; the bell destroys ignorance and is itself indestructible. Plus that’s Tantra, as in Tantric, which contains some rituals that dudes really appreciate.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vajra

    And come on! Dude, the Grim Reaper!!!!!11!!1!one!!!!!eleventy!!!

  2. Gremlins.

    Nope, not kidding.

    But I kind of like it now.

    The Bellarmine Bells is just plain dumb, if you ask me.

  3. Proud to be a Caveman.

    Sure it was easy enough to make fun of us already, and then GEICO comes along. Well, the Q ratings are way up anyway. But, hey, its not like we got the cast as Disney’s Beauty and the Beast female lead.

    HMR

Leave a Reply

