Theme Thursday: Suitcase   7 comments

The suitcase, the briefcase, the trunk.  Often times it’s the focus of a murder mystery or suspense thriller.  In Pulp Fiction, Vincent and Jules were tasked at recovering the mysterious briefcase, whose contents are forever the speculation of Tarantino fans.  In Ronin, everyone was trying to get “the case”; another instance where the audience is drawn into the story following a container whose contents are forever unknown.

My favorite mysterious case movie is a very unknown silly movie called The Double McGuffin, a Joe Camp (yes, the Benji guy) movie.  If you haven’t seen it, it’s hilarious.  In that movie, the briefcase is the subject of much shenanigans, and it contains… well, I won’t tell you what it contains at various parts of the movie because I don’t want to spoil it for you, but it takes a different tack from those previous two movies: they’re constantly showing you what’s in the case, but it’s usually not what you expect to be in there at the time.

I recommend it.  I’d write more about it, but I had 10 hours sleep last night for the first time in 6 years, and I’m rushing to get ready to due Parental Duty for my last iteration at Jack’s preschool.  More later!

Posted May 28, 2009 by padraic2112 in movies, Theme Thursday

7 responses to “Theme Thursday: Suitcase

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. will have to check that one out. have not seen it. maybe this weekend. happy tt!

  2. Damn, I knew I was going to regret it I didn’t get my post up earlier.

    “We’ve got a briefcase full of money, a dead body, a killer, a hand-cutter-offer – maybe a whole BUNCH of killers and hand-cutter-offers!”

  3. Suitcases with potentially gruesome contents…a favorite theme of mine…

  4. Oooh . . never heard of it but sounds like it’s worth a watch. Bet yer bottom dollar I can’t get it here!

  5. I haven’t see The Double McGuffin in a long time and don’t remember what is in the suitcase. But I do remember that I loved watching the movie every time it aired. It was good for kids too.

  6. Sounds like fun, and vaguely reminiscent of “What’s Up, Doc?” I’ll try to find it.

    My own TT post was in this vein.

Leave a Reply

