Fast First Ten   2 comments

From Megan… “Via Gatochy, the Ten Favorite Movie Characters meme. I had to do this quick and dirty, because if I think about it too much, I’ll..um…think too much!”.  I tried not to think too much about it, as well, which led to some interesting results…

Number One : Dr. Henry Jones, Jr.

indiana_jones_wearing_his_hat

“This is it… This is where Forrestall cashed in.”

Number Two : Nick Charles

Another+Thin+Man

“It’s not true. He didn’t come anywhere near my tabloids”.

Number Three : Jack Burton

jack_burton

“When some wild-eyed, eight-foot-tall maniac grabs your neck, taps the back of your favorite head up against the barroom wall, and he looks you crooked in the eye and he asks you if ya paid your dues, you just stare that big sucker right back in the eye, and you remember what ol’ Jack Burton always says at a time like that: “Have ya paid your dues, Jack?” “Yessir, the check is in the mail.””

Number Four : Lisa (Carol) Fremont

lisa

Lisa : “She’s not in love with any of them”

Jeff : “How can you tell?”

Lisa : “You said it resembled my apartment.”

Number Five : Hildy Johnson

rosalind

To Walter, over the phone : “Now, get this, you double-crossing chimpanzee: There ain’t going to be any interview and there ain’t going to be any story. And that certified check of yours is leaving with me in twenty minutes. I wouldn’t cover the burning of Rome for you if they were just lighting it up. If I ever lay my two eyes on you again, I’m gonna walk right up to you and hammer on that monkeyed skull of yours ’til it rings like a Chinese gong!”

Number Six : Sam Spade

spade

“You won’t need much of anybody’s help. You’re good. Chiefly your eyes, I think, and that throb you get in your voice when you say things like ‘Be generous, Mr. Spade.'”

Number Seven : Jonathan Brewster

arsenic-and-old-lace12

Dr. Einstein: “You cannot count the one in South Bend. He died of pneumonia!”

Jonathan : “He wouldn’t have died of pneumonia if I hadn’t shot him!”

Number Eight : Jay Trotter

trotter

Ah, ah, ah…How much does forty-eight $50 win tickets on the three horse in the seventh race *pay*?

Number Nine : Claude Lebel

lebel

Minister: “How did you know whose telephone to tap?”

Claude Lebel (to the assembled 20 or so major political entities of France): “I didn’t, so I tapped them all.”

Number Ten : Cpt. Keith Mallory

mallory

You think you’ve been getting away with it all this time, standing by. Well, son… your bystanding days are over! You’re in it now, up to your neck! They told me that you’re a genius with explosives. Start proving it! You got me in the mood to use this thing, and by God, if you don’t think of something, I’ll use it on you!

Posted May 18, 2009 by padraic2112 in movies

2 responses to “Fast First Ten

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You and Kitty and Corey and I need to do a good food good movie night. We’ve been talking about rigging up a screen in our backyard so we can have movies on the lido deck…

  2. Whatever, Steph!

    Nice list, Pat. I like the Lebel addition – was not expecting that but I can totally see why you would pick him.

Leave a Reply

