Memories Fade?   1 comment

Megan’s post led me to surfing around YouTube for a while looking for videos of 80’s songs.  This has had some unexpected fallout.

I was born in 1971.  This puts me at more or less just off dead center when it comes to advertisment targeting.  I noticed this a few years back when songs that I remembered from my youth started showing up as advertising music.  One of the best examples of this is actually for the generation just before mine… Bill Gates purchasing the rights to “Start Me Up” for the Windows 95 release probably jarred a generation’s sense of social fundament.

Anyway, while surfing YouTube, I noticed why a few commercials that are aimed at my generation seem so… well, they just don’t seem like the advertising concept would have made it past Corporate 20 years ago.  Example:

Coca Cola Commercial:

Original Queen video:

Posted January 10, 2009 by padraic2112 in humor, noise

One response to “Memories Fade?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I see your point!

    Watch that YT surfing. It is horribly addicting.

Leave a Reply

