Not Twenty Questions   3 comments

Vacation, studying for the screening exam, and a couple of other things have all taken a toll on the blogging frequency.  Some catching up will follow in the next few days.

First, Megan’s Interview.  The rules are thus:

  1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
  2. I will respond by
    emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions. If your
    profile does not include an email address, then send it to me. And if
    you don’t know where to look for my email address, I wash my hands of
    you.
  3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
  4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
  5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

I asked to be interviewed.  Here are Megan’s questions, and my answers:

1. A wizard casts a spell and either you or your wife will be mute for
one week, and you have to decide which.  Who gets this curse (or
blessing)?

I’ve actually been under a vow of silence for an extended period before (Senior Quiet Retreat in high school), and didn’t mind in the slightest.  I also hate the phone, so being under a spell of silence wouldn’t bother me too much.  On the other hand, Kitty might not like me being unable to carry some of the conversational load with the children.  Since Jack is in the, “But (Dad, Mom)… I HAVE to TALK to you!” phase, this is an important consideration.  Kitty would be the first to admit that she likes to talk – not in a bad way – but she might not like being stuck dumb for the week.  It sounds sort of like I’m punting on this one, but I’d let Kitty decide.  Either way would be fine with me.

2. Your 16 year old son comes home and announces he wants to join the ROTC.  What would you say?

Lacking more context, I’m not sure how I’d feel about this.  Kitty’s Dad graduated from the Air Force Academy and did a 20 year stretch.  At one point, I seriously considered doing military service.  On the other hand, this is the sort of major life decision that I’d have to be fairly confident was the right one for one of my children to make before I’d be comfortable supporting it.  If I thought that Jack had the right personality and was making this decision for the right reasons, I wouldn’t have a problem with it.  I’m not very convinced that 16 is the right age for the proper maturity level required to make this decision… but there are certainly 16-year-olds who are capable of it, and it’s possible that Jack would be.

3. Do you regret getting a dog?

Not precisely; I regret currently being the sort of dog owner that I am at the moment, because I don’t feel like I can give Duffy the level of attention he really needs to be a content pooch.  Of course, Jack is close to “throw the ball for the dog to chase and think it’s grand fun” age and the kids are getting closer and closer to self-entertainment independence, so I think it’s possible that fairly soon Duffy will be getting enough attention. 

4. Excluding your wedding (and by extension, betrothal) day and the births of your children, what’s your happiest day ever?

Graduating college as an undergraduate… although at the time I was happy for what in retrospect were all the wrong reasons (Whoo!  I get to go make money and not be broke all the time!)  That will be replaced in about 5 months by graduating from my Master’s program, I think… this time around for all the right reasons.

5. Wizard comes back for more and gives you a choice – you will never go bald, or you can immediately lose 20 pounds?

Kitty’s response when I told her about this question was, “Duh!  You can always lose the weight!” but I think the question is a little more subtle.  Men in my family generally don’t go bald; only Uncle John and Grandpa were balding, and at this point I’m definitely old enough to know that I’m not following their hair pattern but the Cahalan one, which is, “Go grey before you’re 40 but keep your hair”, so I’m pretty sure that it’s vanishingly unlikely that I’d go bald in any event.  Unless the wizard is going to rephrase that as “You will never go bald or you can immediately lose 20 pounds and your hair”, I’m leaning pretty hard towards dumping the 20.  On the other hand, I don’t really care enough about either my hair or my weight to feel like this is a tradeoff worthy of magical intervention.

Posted January 2, 2009 by padraic2112 in noise

3 responses to “Not Twenty Questions

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You have a way of not at all answering the question… šŸ˜‰

  2. Yeah, what Ann said! But still interesting answers.

  3. OK, I’ll be interviewed. I’m not as afraid of your questions as I was of Megan’s.

Leave a Reply

