Imagine Waking Up To A Day With No Sun   3 comments

Every once in a while, something that you’ve always taken for granted in your life disappears.  Usually these are pretty small things, and you don’t notice them because they’re part of a particular phase of your life.  They stop showing your favorite cartoon on television… but you’re getting older and don’t watch that show any more anyway.  They stop making one of your favorite toys… but you’re now in college and you still have your old Go-Bot collection in a box at your parents’ house… and even if something happened to that box, you can always find it on eBay, right?  These little “social landmarks” can usually disappear and you just don’t quite notice them.

Sometimes, they are somewhat major things that you notice when you go back to the old neighborhood.  A church has been torn down, an iconic mural has been painted over.  Unlike social landmarks, actual physical landmarks are usually more jarring when they disappear, since their disappearance has an actual immediate impact on your perception of physical reality, as opposed to your social one.

Today I found out about a “social landmark” that has disappeared that seems utterly unbelievable.  The best way I can describe it would be if I visited San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge was just gone.

Mother’s Cookies has gone out of business.

The big bag of pink and white animal cookies has been erased from the world.  Once the current supply is gone (and believe you me, I’m going to be looking for them now)… there are no more.  Jack and Hannah will never experience that same ecstatic joy I had as a child when I reached into a bag and came up with three cookies fused together by that horribly unhealthy frosting… and I could actually say, “But Mom… it IS just one cookie!”

And there will likely never be another horrible, pretty low grade oatmeal cookie.  I’ve only bought them a few times myself, but every time I had one it made me think of my grandmother, because she always had some in the cupboard.

cookies

(image found here)

Posted November 10, 2008 by padraic2112 in family, noise, parenting

3 responses to “Imagine Waking Up To A Day With No Sun

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh that’s just f***ing great news on a Monday morning.

  2. What? What? !?!?!?!? WHAT?!?!?!

  3. I will miss the pink and white animal cookies for sure, but I don’t think I can live without their oatmeal cookies. I just don’t think I can do it.

Leave a Reply

