Alphabet Film Meme   4 comments

From Blog Cabins, via Piper, via Megan.

Here Are The Rules:

1. Pick one film to represent each letter of the alphabet.

2. The letter “A” and the word “The” do not count as the beginning of a film’s title, unless the film is simply titled A or The, and I don’t know of any films with those titles.

3. Return of the Jedi belongs under “R,” not “S” as in Star Wars Episode IV: Return of the Jedi. This rule applies to all films in the original Star Wars trilogy; all that followed start with “S.” Similarly, Raiders of the Lost Ark belongs under “R,” not “I” as in Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark. Conversely, all films in the LOTR series belong under “L” and all films in the Chronicles of Narnia series belong under “C,” as that’s what those filmmakers called their films from the start. In other words, movies are stuck with the titles their owners gave them at the time of their theatrical release. Use your better judgment to apply the above rule to any series/films not mentioned.

4. Films that start with a number are filed under the first letter of their number’s word. 12 Monkeys would be filed under “T.”

5. Link back to Blog Cabins in your post so that I can eventually type “alphabet meme” into Google and come up #1, then make a post where I declare that I am the King of Google.

6. If you’re selected, you have to then select 5 more people.

I tag Corey, Erich, SLS, Hammer, and Dave.

Disclaimer: Like Megan, I picked the first movie that popped into my head.  So, no guarantee of quality here.

Aliens (1986) – James Cameron

Every meal a banquet, every formation a parade.  I LOVE the Corps!

Big Trouble In Little China (1986) – John Carpenter

Now I’m not sayin’ that I’ve been everywhere and I’ve done everything, but a man would have to be some kind of fool to think we’re alone in this universe!

Cars (2004) – John Lasseter

Don’t drive like my brother!

Damnation Alley (1977) – Jack Smight

I actually don’t remember any quotes from this movie.  There’s a reason it has 4.6 stars.

E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial (1982) – Steven Spielberg

I don’t know. You have absolute power, remember?

Foul Play (1978) – Colin Higgins

Beware the Dwarf!

Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner? (1967) – Stanley Kramer

Then carefully, but carefully Hilary, remove absolutely everything that might subsequently remind me that you had ever been there, including that yellow thing with the blue bulbs which you have such an affection for. Then take the check, for $5,000, which I feel you deserve, and get – permanently – lost. It’s not that I don’t want to know you – although I don’t – it’s just that I’m afraid we’re not really the sort of people that you can afford to be associated with. Don’t speak, Hilary, just… go.

Highlander (1986) – Russell Mulcahy

It also left a man’s decapitated body lying on the floor next to his own severed head. The head, which at this time, has no name.

Incredible Shrinking Woman, The (1981) – Joel Schumacher

Again, I don’t have any quotes from this movie.  I don’t even know why it popped into my head, I haven’t seen it in years.

Jumpin’ Jack Flash (1986) – Penny Marshall

Look, a tropical fish and its mate!

Krull (1983) – Peter Yates

Short in stature, tall in power, narrow of purpose and wide of vision!

La Femme Nikita (1990) – Luc Besson

There are two things that are infinite: femininity and means to take advantage of it.

Meteor (1979) – Ronald Neame

Again, no idea why it popped into my head.

Napoleon Dynamite (2004) – Jared Hess

This movie is too heavily quoted for me to quote it, on principle.

Osterman Weekend, The (1983) – Sam Peckinpah

Think of them as fleas on a dog hit by a car driven by a drunken teenager whose girlfriend just gave him the clap.

Princess Bride,  The (1987) – Rob Reiner

The minute his HEAD is in view, HIT IT WITH THE ROCK!!

Quick And The Dead, The (1995) – Sam Raimi

“The Quick…” [whip crack] “… and The Dead” -> movie trailer voice guy

Rope (1948) – Alfred Hitchcock

After all, murder is – or should be – an art. Not one of the ‘seven lively’, perhaps, but an art nevertheless. And, as such, the privilege of committing it should be reserved for those few who are really superior individuals.

Silver Streak (1976) – Arthur Hiller

You shot Reese, and Reese shot Sweet?

Trouble With Harry, The (1955) – Alfred Hitchcock

You’re not supposed to bury bodies whenever you find them.  It makes people suspicious.

Untouchables, The (1987) – Brian De Palma

You just fulfilled the first rule of law enforcement: make sure when your shift is over you go home alive

Victory (1981) – John Huston

I have no idea why this one popped in my head.  Sylvester Stallone as a POW soccer player?

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971) – Mel Stuart

No, no, don’t speak. For some moments in life there are no words.

Xanadu (1980) – Robert Greenwald

Yeah, like this isn’t the first “X” movie that popped into YOUR head.

Young Frankenstein (1974) – Mel Brooks

I think I had Wilder on the brain at this point.

Zorro, The Gay Blade (1981) – Peter Medak

Two bits, four bits, six bits, a peso.  All those for Zorro, stand up and say so!

Posted November 7, 2008 by padraic2112 in family, memes, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Alphabet Film Meme

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My way is not very sportsmanlike.

  2. “I’m a little black woman, in a big silver box…”

  3. Pingback: obfuscated.org » Blog Archive » Alphabet Film Meme

  4. I did it too! Well not completely, I owe you some link or something.

    Megan stole the money quote… from Fred. So I guess “The key is the key”

    Krull, I knew it was a nerd point when it arrived in my head. I blame the Atari game, with the incesently spining disc.

    Xanadu, thankfully I knew it started with one of the difficult letters but I said… banish, banish, banish! A little forgetfullness can be your friend. So at letter X, mine did just pop in there. When looking at X, my formatting helped!

Leave a Reply

