9 Angry Man (& Woman) Monologues   8 comments

Coworker Dave and I started talking about classic scenes from movies, and I started musing about classic “Angry Man Monologue” scenes. These, opposed to the “Crazy Man Monologue” scenes. Scenes from movies that involve a truly epic rant by a righteous (or self-righteous) character.

This wasn’t meant to be restricted to men; it just so happens that it’s pretty rare that a classic angry rant comes from an actress. I’ve come up with a least one actress rant to include on the list, additional entries welcome.

We’ll start with the obvious.

Samuel L. Jackson, as Jules Winnfield, in “Pulp Fiction” (1994) – the hit scene. Launched a career of angry man rants.

Jack Nicholson, as Daryl Van Horne, in “The Witches of Eastwick” (1987). The ranting about the perfidiousness of women to a thunderstruck church-going audience is I think my second favorite Jack Nicholson performance of any sort, and beats out Jack as Col. Nathan R. Jessup, in “A Few Good Men” (1992).

Lee Cobb, as Juror #3, in “12 Angry Men” (1957). The furious breakdown of an sad man buried under a lifetime of bitterness.

Also from 12 Angry Men, Ed Begley, as Juror #10. The racist rant.

Clint Eastwood, as William Munny, in “Unforgiven” (1992). “That’s right. I’ve killed women and children. I’ve killed just about everything that walks or crawled at one time or another. And I’m here to kill you, Little Bill, for what you did to Ned.” The scene that displays the cold fury that Eastwood reached for in most of the characters his entire career, and finally seized and embraced to full effectiveness. This scene itself is fascinating as an interplay of monologues; Gene Hackman’s Little Bill and Eastwood’s Munny trade lines, but neither is really addressing the other. They’re either talking to everyone else in the room, or to themselves. All the communication between the two men is in the eyes.

Gregory Peck, as Keith Mallory, in “The Guns of Navarone” (1961). A inherently fairly decent man, driven by the pressures of war to set up his friend in an impossible situation, confronted by another decent man (David Niven). Worthy not only for Peck’s rant (as excellent a performance as any other in his career), but for Niven’s response, communicated almost entirely by expression.

Uma Thurman, as Maid Marian, in “Robin Hood” (1991). Losing out to Kevin Costner’s version in the marketing war shunted this (much better) incarnation to the small screen. As a result, Uma’s lambasting of her paramour Sir Miles Folcanet (Jurgen Prochnow) simply didn’t get the exposure to the cinema world it deserved. “Conquer your ignorance, Miles. Fight your stupid greed.”

Humphrey Bogart, as Sam Spade, in “The Maltese Falcon” (1941). Spade’s breakdown of his negotiation with Gutman ends with a seemingly furious tirade, only for the audience to realize as he storms out of the room that the character has been acting. The slight twist at the end of the scene as Sam boards the elevator shows that Mr. Spade isn’t *quite* the cool character we’ve all been thinking he is (unfortunately not included in the below clip).

Ricardo Montalban, as Khan, in “Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan” (1982). “For hate’s sake… I spit my last breath at thee.” Yep, it’s a performance that would probably be regarded as “over the top” if it didn’t come in the same movie as the King of the OverToppers (Shatner). Which, in and of itself, is the reason why it belongs on the list… nobody could have played Khan’s rage at Kirk better than Ricardo did… without either making his own performance look ridiculous, or Shatner’s.

Honorable mention goes to Jimmy Stewart’s Jefferson Smith from “Mr. Smith Goes To Washington“, but the ending scene is less about anger than it is disillusionment.

People are going to ask, where’s Pacino’s “Say hello to my leetle friend!” or Finch’s “I’m mad as hell, and I’m not gonna take it anymore!”… those are the Crazy Man Rants, and I’ll get to those later.

Posted May 25, 2008 by padraic2112 in movies

8 responses to “9 Angry Man (& Woman) Monologues

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No list that includes angry women is complete without Erin Brokovich: “So before you come back here with another lame ass offer, I want you to think real hard about what your spine is worth, Mr. Walker. Or what you might expect someone to pay you for your uterus, Ms. Sanchez. Then you take out your calculator and you multiply that number by a hundred. Anything less than that is a waste of our time.”

  2. Or my other personal favorite, Sidney Poitier in Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner, which is full of great angry monologues:

    “You listen to me. You say you don’t want to tell me how to live my life. So what do you think you’ve been doing? You tell me what rights I’ve got or haven’t got, and what I owe to you for what you’ve done for me. Let me tell you something. I owe you nothing! If you carried that bag a million miles, you did what you’re supposed to do! Because you brought me into this world. And from that day you owed me everything you could ever do for me like I will owe my son if I ever have another. But you don’t own me! You can’t tell me when or where I’m out of line, or try to get me to live my life according to your rules. You don’t even know what I am, Dad, you don’t know who I am. You don’t know how I feel, what I think. And if I tried to explain it the rest of your life you will never understand. You are 30 years older than I am. You and your whole lousy generation believes the way it was for you is the way it’s got to be. And not until your whole generation has lain down and died will the dead weight of you be off our backs! You understand, you’ve got to get off my back! Dad… Dad, you’re my father. I’m your son. I love you. I always have and I always will. But you think of yourself as a colored man. I think of myself as a man. Now, I’ve got a decision to make, hm? And I’ve got to make it alone, and I gotta make it in a hurry. So would you go out there and see after my mother? “

  3. Argh, we talked about these and I still forgot to include them.

  4. Good list, Pat! I wish you could have included clips for all your selections.

    Query – how long does a speech have to be before it becomes a monologue?

  5. Correction: “From Hell’s heart…I stab at thee! For hate’s sake, I spit my last breath at thee!”

    Kirk: “KHHHAAAAAAAANNNN!!” (with full Shatner flourish)

  6. @ Megan

    > Query – how long does a speech have to be before it
    > becomes a monologue?

    It’s not so much a matter of length as it is content and audience. The Eastwood scene, for example, some people would call a dialogue. But (IMO) Eastwood and Hackman aren’t really talking to each other.

  7. quite a modern rant from a female is on ‘The Nanny Diaries’ when the female character is having a rant because the person she works for is a rich snob who doesn’t care about her or her own children.

  8. Pingback: Wednesday, November 5th, 2008 - Best Day « Pat’s Daily Grind

Leave a Reply

