Domain Campers Ought to Acquire Horrible Incurable (Non-Fatal But Embarrassing) Diseases   3 comments

There’s a domain name that I’m interested in acquiring.  I already have a personal site, but I’m probably going to incorporate this year for the purposes of making the occasional contracting job both easier to acquire and less of a nightmare to account for on a 1040.  Incorporating as a geek-related company requires that you have a website, and I have a couple of ideas for an appropriate domain name for such an animal.

When I first came up with the name, there was a domain squatter parked on it.  Now, I have severe problems with people who make a living camping on names simply on the off-chance that someone may want to use it for some practical, useful purpose, but I’m usually willing to grit my teeth and deal with these people.  Unfortunately, the camper in question did not respond to any of my inquiries as to how much blackmail money they were going to demand to part with the domain name in question.  “Fine,” say I, “I shall pay a moderate fee to my domain registrar and have them attempt to acquire the name when the registration is up, in January 2008.”  The registration expiration day came and went, and my registrar was unfortunately unable to acquire the name, someone else got it first.

Normally, this wouldn’t bother me in the slightest, as I believe you can build a brand just fine with a name that has no real association with what you’re actually doing as a business, and I’m not going to begrudge someone the right to a particular domain name if they’re going to use it.  However, I found that the new owner of the domain isn’t someone who is actually using the name… it’s yet another domain camper.  I don’t know if I’m the victim of domain tasting or not, but I do know that I’m not going to pay hundreds or thousands of dollars for a domain name.

All I have to say to this guys is, does your mother know what you do for a living?  Why don’t you get into some business that actually provides some value to somebody?  Heck, even spammers actually provide a service to someone (if nobody answered spam and bought the product, nobody would send spam in the first place), so even though they’re highly irritating at least someone gets some benefit out of their actions.

Posted January 10, 2008 by padraic2112 in noise

3 responses to “Domain Campers Ought to Acquire Horrible Incurable (Non-Fatal But Embarrassing) Diseases

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bottom feeders!!!!!

  2. I feel you, they did this to my favorite comic. HOW IS PIRATE JESUS RELATED TO CLOTHES SHOPPING?

  3. I know this blog entry is nigh on 3 years old. But I share your rage even now in 2011, in fact it has got worse since. I host less than a handful of hobbyist sites for friends. Recently one of them let a domain name slip – it was hoovered up by some automated bot belonging to a “domain safe-keeping” company in Australia seconds after it was released. Along with it went every TLD variant of it, every sane mutation of it, all sucked up by the bot. Stupid thing is they don’t respond to communication, just put click through ads on the domains. Seriously? This was <10 uniques a day site.Thought this was what the various registration bodies for each TLD were formed for, to oversee the TLD and make sure it is not abused. Looks ike they lost their way, got greedy, sat back and watched the money roll in while opportunists wrote scripts to register 1000s of domains in seconds on the off-chance one will pay off. Well done… DNS is broken thanks to greed…. hope they choke on their money in their grave… or maybe we can use it for the funeral pyre.

Leave a Reply

