The Body is a Temple   2 comments

Mine is occasionally desecrated. I drink too much coffee, I don’t exercise enough. We eat marginally well at my house; Kitty is great at keeping vegetables a routine part of the dinner plate, and I’ve fallen into the habit myself… but I had bacon for breakfast this morning, and that’s not very rare.

Really, I weigh 20 lbs more than my fighting weight, and in all honesty I don’t see that getting substantially better for a little while yet. I’m 6’1″, and 205 on good days, which puts my BMI at 27. This puts me over the official “overweight” line but my cholesterol is good, my family heart history is great, and I quit smoking a while back, so (knock wood) I can stay in this low orbit until I finish grad school and the kids get old enough to function a little more independently, at which point taking 30 minutes or an hour out for a workout won’t be a big deal.

Tangent – this table seems crazy, though -> in order to be considered underweight, I’d have to come in at *under* 144 lbs. Now, when I was 170 my waist was a 28. If I dropped to 144 at my height I’d look like a skeleton.

As usual, I’m digressing – the reason why I brought this up is that my buddy Marc, who has been a friend of mine since 4th grade, is training for an Iron Man. Of course, being Marc, he can’t just train for a freaking Iron Man, he has to do it for charity. Geeze, some guys. As if swimming 2.4 miles, biking 112 miles, and then running a full marathon (26.2 miles) isn’t enough.  How many calories do you burn in an Iron Man, anyway?  I’m guessing somewhere about 5-6,000?

I’ll go so far as to link to his donation site. Now, where did I leave my donut…?

Posted December 14, 2007 by padraic2112 in noise

2 responses to “The Body is a Temple

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. he does realize that he can do this same charity and only run the marathon part, right? Most people just run a marathon. Iron Man? Insanity!!

  2. Marc. Yeah. He can do it.

Leave a Reply

