Sibling Gravity-Well Time Sink Number Two: Flixster   10 comments

Meg and Ann both got hooked into Goodreads, so I thought I’d throw Flixster out there as an additional huge time waster, especially for Megan. I’m not sure I like it yet; it’s very similar to Goodreads in the interface, which doesn’t bode well for me, since my Goodreads adoption has slowed down somewhat now that the UI has gotten a little clunky (I don’t know that I like how the UI scales).

Here’s my list so far; it’s obviously just scratching the surface…

Posted November 29, 2007 by padraic2112 in movies, social, tech, web sites

10 responses to “Sibling Gravity-Well Time Sink Number Two: Flixster

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You just started and you already have 309 ratings?!? Don’t you have a job, school, a wife, 2 kids, and a dog?

    Arghaghaaaaaaaa.

  2. Ok I commented but nothing happened. So if it comes up twice, oh well. Here’s what I said:

    You just started and you already have 309 entries?!? Don’t you have a job, school, a wife, 2 kids, and a dog?!?

    Arghaghaaaaaaa

  3. Where’s my darn comments!

  4. Hi Pat,

    We’d love to improve the UI for you – just post your feedback here: http://www.goodreads.com/about/contact_us!

    best,

    Otis (The Goodreads guy)

  5. I have left four comments but none of them seem to show up. So I will say again, curse you, Pat!

    And how do you already have over 300 movies if you just started? Don’t you have a job, school, wife, 2 kids and a damned dog???

  6. Meg-

    You are operating under the illusion that any of the aforementioned responsibilities could trump Pat’s primordial geekiness and nerd-trivia disease.

  7. Whoops, there they all are! Pat you can delete them if you want.

  8. Comments were flagged as spam by the auto-spam detector, not sure why.

    Your comments are approved.

    It doesn’t take long to add 20-30 at a time; if you’re doing high-latency work (like, a majority of IT work), you’re sitting idle at various points in the day. So I click on the tab in my browser that is set to flixster, do a search by actor, and then run down the list of movies. Takes about 90 seconds 🙂

  9. ^ With regards to Pat’s comment. Just read that “It’s easy when you are an enormous geek.”

    PS. Takes one to know one.

  10. “We’d love to improve the UI for you – just post your feedback here: http://www.goodreads.com/about/contact_us!
    best,
    Otis (The Goodreads guy)”

    Does this make Goodreads the Eye That Is Always Watching?

Leave a Reply

