For the Funnybone   Leave a comment

This morning, my son awakened at 5:30am from a nightmare. I managed to get him to go back to sleep, but my daughter (who shares a room with him) woke up before I could get him to calm back down. In the dark, fumbling around (very asleep myself), I noticed that she had a pretty full diaper. “Well, she’s not going to go back to sleep in that,” I figured, so I grabbed a spare #3 and took her to the living room before he decided to wake up again from all the bustle and activity.

Changing a diaper in the dark is a pretty basic skill for a parent. Your first indoctrination in the activity comes while you’re still in the hospital, in most cases. I’m not exactly sure how I managed to bollix this up, but I moebius-stripped it. That is to say, there was a half-twist in the diaper, so that on the back end, the absorbent side was pointed the correct direction, but on the front end, not so much. I then grabbed a big comforter and tried to get her to go back to sleep with me on the couch, praying that she’d conk out and I’d get at least another half-hour of suitable rest time.

Well, suffice to say, she had her morning relief moment. *Surprisingly*, an inside-out (even only half-inside-out) diaper leaks quite a bit. Nothing quite like a wide awake and chipper 16-month old and a pile of soaked stuff to make your already marginally horrible morning into high low comedy.

Posted October 10, 2007 by padraic2112 in humor, noise, parenting

Leave a Reply

